Author Topic: A few questions regarding 'recent' discoveries  (Read 2608 times)

Seeker2000

• View Profile
A few questions regarding 'recent' discoveries
« on: September 19, 2012, 06:42:29 pm »
Hi!

I could not imagine a better place to ask some questions, regarding to some scientific discoveries made quite recently and the possibility to get the answer a layman (with some background) could understand:

1. It is 'common' knowledge about our Sun cycles, which roughly variate between 11 years. But can somebody explain me the meaning (or importance and consequences) of the assumption, that THIS last solar MAXIMUM is expected to be around 25% 'weaker' than ALL others previously observed?

2. How close is the science from shifting in practice (I know in theory this is a 'long dream to be fulfilled') the 'paradigm' of spotting solar storms to predict them, before they appear? (A metaphor: as a physician I'd ask: 'Roughly how far are we from being focused primarily on 'preventive' measures than treatment itself?)

Maybe not the best example, but I think I was understood. Especially because it is maybe not so much prevention (that would be even tougher) than giving us much more 'manoeuvring' space to act, if we are able to predict storms, before they appear.

3. This one is the most 'tricky', because I did not understand fully the 'implications' made by this discovery in the first place:

As I understood, there was a 'definitive' link established by processes occurring on the Sun (storms, flares, winds,...) and the CHANGE in the rate of decay of RADIOACTIVE elements. Something, that was very long thought to be a constant for each of the elements radioactive isotopes, an 'axiom' as for example light speed is. If this is really true, than this has HUGE implications throughout the science, including (nuclear) medicine.