Author Topic: (Almost) SIMULTANEOUS occurrences of CMEs  (Read 2729 times)

Seeker2000

• View Profile
(Almost) SIMULTANEOUS occurrences of CMEs
« on: September 17, 2012, 06:05:31 pm »
Hi to everybody!

This here is actually my first post (although I've spoken with jules several times via PMs), so please, do not be to harsh on me, if I'm asking something, that has been already answered. 

Besides that, I'm in spite of the fact, that I try to learn as much as I can about SOLAR WEATHER for about a year now, I'm a physician, not a physicist or said otherwise: almost a complete layman.

When 'doing' the task SPOT, I've noticed some 'peculiarities', especially in the last videos.

This is not simply unusual to me, but actually creates a technical issue. So to get to the point:

Sometimes whilst trying to mark an eruption of a CME, I've noticed, that some are to say at least 'different'.

With this I mean, that some CMEs, which appear, are ALMOST instantly (I did not check, but with that I mean a time-frame measured in tenths of a second - for example: 100 milliseconds to half a second) proceeded by a second CME.

So what I'm asking is:

1. Is this something usual or a 'phenomenon' which resembles what I would name (just guessing) 'a DOUBLE CME'?

2. Besides, I do not know, if those issuses are connected, but when I encountered such events the calculated speed of the storm was off the charts - 10 000 km/s+ (as opposed to average values of around 350 - 750 km/s);  ???

3. I'm aware, that most likely, the human factor (me) is responsible for such enormous (incorrect) value, but on the other hand I also noticed, that some CMEs in the video itself (without any calculation) seem to move three or four times faster as the 'usual' (and I'm talking about videos, which are continuous and are not missing any frames);