Author Topic: To Begin  (Read 1739 times)

dosey

• View Profile
To Begin
« on: July 13, 2011, 09:25:11 am »
 Hello All! I'm just a newbie. I find the project amazing. I have only found one "light bulb" so far. I am not finding the project as easy to use/move around as, for example, the Icehunters project. Please could we have a few more simple directions for people like me? Did anyone else find it difficult to get started? :-[

jules

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: To Begin
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2011, 10:01:39 am »
Hi dosey and welcome to Solar Stormwatch!

Solar Stormwatch is a little different from the other zooniverse projects. There is a greater variety of tasks and you really do have to take note of the tutorials and example videos. Some of the data we use are also not as refined as in the other projects. "Incoming" and "Incoming Trace" use fairly raw beacon data - it looks rough and pixelly but is sent straight from the Stereo spacecraft to us with very little tweaking and a new frame is added every hour. This is real-time solar science! Takes a while to get your eye in but well worth the effort and quite exciting to be involved in. Many of us pick our favourite tasks and stick to them but you can have a go at all of them - it's up to you.

Once you have completed the training for "Spot" you can have a go at "Spot", "What's That" and "Incoming" and you'll find some helpful "how to" videos on the actual screens for all of the above tasks. There is also training for the new "Track It Back" task but it seems to have a few performance issues (and I can't actually use this at the moment) so as you are new I would concentrate on the above 3 tasks I mentioned and watch the videos.

You might find this index of features useful too when doing "Spot." And there's a SSW flickr site with more example pictures.